Wednesday Wisdom: The Embers of Inspiration

Chagall's America Windows, Art Institute of Chicago (right side, public domain).

Chagall’s America Windows, Art Institute of Chicago (right side, public domain).

 

“If my art played no part in my family’s life, their lives and their achievements greatly influenced my art.

You know, I was greatly excited as I stood beside my grandfather’s seat in the synagogue.

Poor wretch, how I twisted and turned before I got there! Facing the window, my prayer book in my hands, I gazed at leisure on the sights of the quarter, on the Sabbath.

Beneath the drone of prayers, the sky seemed bluer to me. The houses float in space. And each passer-by stands out clearly.

Behind my back, they are beginning the prayer and my grandfather is asked to intone it before the altar. He prays, he sings, he repeats himself melodiously and begins again. It is as though an oil  mill were turning in my heart! Or as though a new honey, recently gathered, were trickling down inside me.”

– Marc Chagall, My Life

Leave a Reply

