Air New Zealand Awarded Airline of the Year and Best Premium Economy Honors for 2017

Air New Zealand Boeing 777-200ER, Heathrow Airport, London (2007, public domain).

Air New Zealand Boeing 777-200ER, Heathrow Airport, London (2007, public domain).



“In our objective analysis Air New Zealand came out number one in virtually all of our audit criteria, which is an exceptional performance.” – Geoffrey Thomas, Editor-in-Chief,


Air New Zealand has been named the world’s best airline for 2017 – the fourth consecutive year that the carrier has been given the prestigious high five by And, for the third straight year, the airline was also recognized as the carrier operating the Best Premium Economy Class worldwide.

According to representatives from, Air New Zealand soared to the top of the Top Ten list once again thanks to “its record-breaking financial performance, award-winning in-flight innovations, operational safety, environmental leadership and motivation of its staff. These factors have stamped the airline as an industry trendsetter.”

Adding that, in order to be honored with a top ten rating by the organization, the airline “must achieve a seven-star safety rating and demonstrate leadership in innovation for passenger comfort,” the spokesperson also explained that the organization’s Airline Excellence Awards review process is a rigorous one, combining “four major international industry and government audits, with another nine key criteria that include: fleet age, passenger review ratings, profitability, investment rating and key product offerings.”

“The past 12 months have been exceptional for Air New Zealand – we’ve continued to invest in a streamlined and refurbished fleet, launched three new international routes and rolled out improvements to the customer experience with enhanced inflight entertainment and a multi-million dollar lounge redevelopment program,” said Air New Zealand Chief Executive Officer Christopher Luxon. “Above all, the award is testament to the talented team of people who make Air New Zealand great by putting customers at the heart of everything we do.”

The other nine carriers receiving recognition in this round of awards were: Qantas Airways, Singapore Airlines, Cathay Pacific Airways, Virgin Australia/Virgin Atlantic, British Airways, Etihad Airways, All Nippon Airways, Eva Air and Lufthansa.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: